OUR MOTIVATION

For successful climate policy we need scientifically sound scenarios, instruments that actually deliver on our targets, and more dialogue between various interest groups.
The Climate Neutrality Foundation wants to contribute to that effort.

The aim of our foundation is to show ways to achieve climate neutrality.

Human induced climate change due to emissions of greenhouse gases is a major threat to Germany, Europe and the world. Despite all progress – it is still fossil fuels such as oil, coal and natural gas that power our economies, fuel our cars and airplanes, transport our goods and heat our homes.

However, the challenge posed by climate change is also a great opportunity for a comprehensive modernization of our economy, which we should use wisely. If we are to avoid dangerous climate change, we urgently need to accelerate the transformation to climate neutrality!

 

Climate protection in Europe can only be successful if Germany is also successful.

Germany is among the top seven emitters of greenhouse gases globally. Within the EU, Germany is by far the largest emitter.With its work, the Climate Neutrality Foundation wants to show the way to a rapid transformation If we want to be climate-neutral by 2050 at the latest, the interim targets for 2030 and 2040 need to be raised. This applies to both Europe and Germany.

 

The Climate Neutrality Foundation, based in Berlin, began its work in July 2020.

Climate and energy expert Rainer Baake, former State Secretary in the Federal Environment Ministry from 1998 to 2005 and State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy from 2014 to 2018, was appointed Director.

The foundation was established to develop cross-sectoral strategies for a climate-friendly Germany in close cooperation with other think tanks. Based on sound research, the foundation aims to provide information and advice – independent of vested interests.

It will be of central importance in the upcoming legislative terms,

  • to avoid stranded investments in fossil technologies,
  • to massively improve the efficiency of energy use (Efficiency First),
  • to expand renewable power generation to an extent that enables the necessary electrification of other sectors (Electrify Second)
  • and finally, to use electricity from renewable sources to produce hydrogen that replaces fossil fuels in industry, but also in other sectors (Green Fuels Third).

In addition, greenhouse gas emissions that are not caused by energy use, especially in the agricultural, industrial and waste management sectors, must be avoided as far as possible or compensated by negative emissions.

Funding

The Climate Neutrality Foundation receives funding from the non-profit US-American Climate Imperative Foundation. The Climate Imperative Foundation finances particularly relevant climate protection activities worldwide and is managed by Energy Innovation:

energyinnovation.org

The Climate Imperative Foundation takes no influence on the substance of the Climate Neutrality Foundation’s work.

The Climate Neutrality Foundation is independent in its work and politically neutral.

WAS UNS BEWEGT

Ein besserer Klimaschutz braucht wissenschaftlich fundierte Szenarien, Instrumente, mit denen Ziele auch tatsächlich erreicht werden und einen Dialog zwischen den Interessengruppen. Dazu will die Stiftung Klimaneutralität einen Beitrag leisten.

Ziel der neuen Stiftung ist es, Wege zur Klimaneutralität aufzuzeigen.

Der menschengemachte Klimawandel durch die Emission von Treibhausgasen ist eine Bedrohung für Deutschland, Europa und die Welt. Trotz aller Fortschritte, noch immer sind es vor allem die fossilen Energiequellen Öl, Kohle und Erdgas, mit denen unsere Wirtschaft produziert, mit denen wir Auto fahren, fliegen, Güter transportieren und unsere Häuser heizen.

Die Herausforderung durch den Klimawandel ist jedoch auch eine große Chance für eine umfassende Modernisierung unserer Volkswirtschaft, die wir klug nutzen sollten. Wenn wir einen gefährlichen Klimawandel verhindern wollen, dann müssen wir bei der Transformation zur Klimaneutralität einen deutlichen Zahn zulegen!

Klimaschutz in Europa kann nur erfolgreich sein, wenn auch Deutschland erfolgreich ist.

Deutschland gehört weltweit zu den sieben Nationen mit dem höchsten Ausstoß an Klimagasen. Innerhalb der EU ist Deutschland mit deutlichem Abstand der größte Verursacher. Die Stiftung Klimaneutralität will mit ihrer Arbeit aufzeigen, wie eine schnelle Transformation gelingen kann. Wenn wir spätestens 2050 klimaneutral seien wollen, müssen die Zwischenziele für 2030 und 2040 angehoben werden. Dies gilt sowohl für Europa als auch für Deutschland.

 

Im Juli 2020 hat die Stiftung Klimaneutralität in Berlin ihre Arbeit aufgenommen.

Zum Direktor wurde der Klima- und Energieexperte Rainer Baake berufen, der von 1998 bis 2005 Staatssekretär im Bundesumweltministerium und von 2014 bis 2018 Staatssekretär im Bundeswirtschafts- und Energieministerium war.

Die Stiftung wurde gegründet, um in enger Kooperation mit anderen Denkfabriken sektorübergreifende Strategien für ein klimagerechtes Deutschland zu entwickeln. Auf der Basis von guter Forschung will die Stiftung informieren und beraten – jenseits von Einzelinteressen. In den nächsten Legislaturperioden wird es von zentraler Bedeutung sein,

  • Fehlinvestitionen in fossile Technologien zu vermeiden,
  • die Effizienz bei der Nutzung von Energie massiv zu verbessern (Efficiency First),
  • die erneuerbare Stromerzeugung in einem Maße auszubauen, dass auch eine Elektrifizierung anderer Sektoren möglich wird (Electrify Second)
  • und schließlich mit Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen Wasserstoff zu erzeugen, der fossile Brennstoffe in der Industrie, aber auch in anderen Sektoren ersetzt (Green Fuels Third).

 

Zudem müssen auch die Treibhausgasemissionen, die nicht durch den Energieeinsatz bedingt sind, v.a. in den Sektoren Landwirtschaft, Industrie und Abfallwirtschaft, so weit wie möglich vermieden oder durch negative Emissionen ausgeglichen werden.

Finanzierung

Die Stiftung Klimaneutralität wird von der gemeinnützigen US-amerikanischen Climate Imperative Foundation unterstützt. Die Climate Imperative Foundation finanziert weltweit besonders relevante Klimaschutzaktivitäten und wird verwaltet von Energy Innovation:
energyinnovation.org

Die Climate Imperative Foundation nimmt keinen Einfluss auf die inhaltliche Arbeit der Stiftung Klimaneutralität.

Die Stiftung Klimaneutralität ist in ihrer Arbeit unabhängig und parteipolitisch neutral.