Buildings

In the building sector, the aim is to significantly accelerate energy efficiency improvements, to speed up the switch from fossil oil and gas heating systems to electric heat pumps and to use heating networks based on renewable energies where appropriate. This is all the more important in view of the long investment cycles in the building sector.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Towards a Climate-Neutral Germany. Study conducted for Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Climate Neutrality Foundation.

Fossil fuels still dominate heavily

Since 1990, greenhouse gas emissions in the building sector have already been reduced by 44 percent. The main drivers for the reduction were the substitution of coal and, from 2000 on, of heating oil. More efficient heating systems (condensing boiler technology), increased building efficiency through refurbishment and the emergence of renewable energies for heat generation were further important factors in reducing emissions. Nevertheless, heating and cooling of buildings still accounts for almost 28 percent of total final energy consumption today; the share of renewable energies in the building sector is only 11 percent.

Heat pumps and heating networks are the focus

Central measures for achieving climate neutrality in the building sector are a shift in the heat supply and improving the efficiency of building envelopes and heating and cooling systems. The rate and depth of energy-related refurbishment needs to be accelerated. Electric heat pumps and heating networks based on renewable energies form the backbone of a climate-neutral heat supply. In 2050, 90 percent of the building space will have been renovated or efficient new buildings will have been built. The share of living space heated by heating networks will rise to 25 percent. In the remaining buildings, 14 million heat pumps will be used.

Long investment cycles require quick action

A major challenge in reducing greenhouse gas emissions is the long service life of buildings and their components. As a result, only a small proportion of the building and plant stock is modernized each year. The associated inertia impedes the quick reduction of GHG emissions. Accordingly, in view of the goal of climate neutrality in 2050, it is particularly important to implement the necessary efficiency and decarbonization measures within the upcoming replacement cycles.

Download

Infographic

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-file

Gebäude

Im Gebäudesektor gilt es, die energetische Sanierung deutlich zu beschleunigen, den Umstieg von fossilen Öl- und Gasheizungen auf elektrische Wärmepumpen konsequent voranzutreiben und dort, wo es sinnvoll ist, Wärmenetze auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien einzusetzen. Dies ist umso wichtiger vor dem Hintergrund der langen Investitionszyklen im Gebäudebereich.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Klimaneutrales Deutschland. Studie im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Hoher Anteil fossiler Brennstoffe
Seit 1990 konnten die Treibhausgasemissionen im Gebäudebereich bereits um 44 Prozent gesenkt werden. Die Haupttreiber für die Reduktion waren die Substitution von Kohle und ab dem Jahr 2000 auch von Heizöl. Effizientere Heizungen (Brennwerttechnologie), die gesteigerte Gebäudeeffizienz durch Sanierungen und das Aufkommen von erneuerbaren Energien zur Wärmeerzeugung waren weitere wichtige Faktoren zur Emissionsreduktion. Trotzdem machen heute noch das Heizen und Kühlen von Gebäuden knapp 28 Prozent des gesamten Endenergieverbrauchs aus; der Anteil erneuerbarer Energien im Gebäudebereich liegt erst bei 11 Prozent.

Wärmepumpen und Wärmenetze stehen im Zentrum
Zentrale Maßnahmen auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität im Gebäudebereich sind die Umstellung der Wärmeversorgung sowie die Verbesserung der Effizienz bei Gebäudehüllen und bei Heiz- und Kühlanlagen. Bei der energetischen Gebäudesanierung gilt es, die Sanierungsrate und die Sanierungstiefe zu erhöhen. Die elektrische Wärmepumpe und auf erneuerbaren Energien basierende Wärmenetze bilden das Rückgrat einer klimaneutralen Wärmeversorgung. Im Jahr 2050 werden 90 Prozent der Gebäudefläche saniert oder effizient neugebaut worden sein. Der mit Wärmenetzen beheizte Anteil der Wohnfläche steigt auf 25 Prozent. In den übrigen Gebäuden kommen 14 Mio. Wärmepumpen zum Einsatz.

Gebäude Content-01

Lange Investitionszyklen erfordern rasches Handeln
Eine große Herausforderung für die Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen ist die lange Nutzungsdauer von Gebäuden und deren Bauteilen. Dadurch wird jedes Jahr nur ein geringer Anteil des Gebäude- und Anlagenbestands modernisiert. Die damit verbundene Trägheit erschwert die rasche Reduktion der Emissionen. Entsprechend ist es mit Blick auf das Ziel der Klimaneutralität im Jahr 2050 besonders wichtig, die anfallenden Ersatzzyklen zu nutzen und dabei die notwendigen Effizienz- bzw. Dekarbonisierungsmaßnahmen umzusetzen.

Grafik-Download

Infografik

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-Datei

Leseempfehlung Wärmepumpen in Bestandsgebäuden: Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt „WPsmart im Bestand“
Günther et al., Fraunhofer Institut für Solare Energiesysteme (ISE), Juli 2020