Carbon Sinks

Carbon sinks and negative emissions play a limited but nevertheless indispensable role in achieving climate neutrality. In agriculture in particular, but also in specific industrial processes, residual GHG emissions will still remain in 2050. These emissions will be offset by removing CO2 from the atmosphere and subsequently storing it via CCS technology. On balance, Germany can become climate neutral.

Carbon sinks include natural sinks, such as carbon uptake by forests and soils, as well as so-called negative emissions via CCS technology, which are achieved by removing CO2 from the atmosphere and depositing it.

Natural carbon sinks include carbon sequestration from land use, land use change and forestry (LULUCF). These natural sinks absorb and store CO2, e.g. in trees in forests or in peat soils. If poorly managed, sinks can become GHG emission sources.

Negative emissions from the use of CCS-technologies are mainly achieved through biomass CCS, Direct Air Carbon Capture And Storage and the material binding of CO2 in green polymers.

  • Bioenergy with carbon capture and storage (BECCS) is the capture and geological storage of CO2 created through the combustion of biomass. Since biomass is largely CO2-neutral when sustainably cultivated and used as a waste material, BECCS can remove CO2 from the atmosphere in the long term. The use of BECCS is limited by the amount of sustainably available biomass.
  • Direct Air Carbon Capture and Storage (DACCS) refers to the capture of CO2 directly from the air and its subsequent storage in suitable geological formations. Ambient air is sucked in by fans and CO2 is bound by a sorbent. The CO2 is deposited in the same way as in CCS. The energy consumption and costs for DACCS are significantly higher than for BECCS.
  • Green naphtha / material binding of CO2 in green polymers: Green naphtha or other hydrocarbons can be produced by using biomass or CO2 extracted from the air via direct air capture in combination with renewables-based hydrogen, e.g. in Fischer-Tropsch plants. These can be processed into polymers and plastics. Through an improved recycling system, the plastics are permanently kept in the material cycle. Combined with CCS in waste incineration, it can be avoided that carbon previously captured from the atmosphere is re-emitted.
Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Towards a Climate-Neutral Germany. Executive Summary conducted for Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Industry will play an important role in the use of BECCS. Especially the high concentrated heat requirements of the steel and chemical industries are well suited for using biomass on a large scale and capturing the resulting CO2. The carbon can then be stored via the CO2 infrastructure needed for the cement industry anyway. The almost complete recycling of plastics, especially through chemical recycling, is a further important contribution of the industry to climate neutrality.

For CCS, infrastructure as well as spatial planning issues are of major importance. In the future, the availability of CO2 infrastructures and corresponding storage sites will be a central location requirement for several industrial sectors. We will need massive learning curve effects for the technology of extracting CO2 from the atmosphere.

CO2 Senken-content

Data and forecasts regarding natural sinks, i.e. the carbon uptake by forests and soils, are still very imprecise. In addition, due to climate change, forests and soils could threaten to turn into CO2 sources instead of sinks in the coming decades. Therefore, the contribution of natural sinks to climate neutrality is difficult to quantify and is not considered by us to achieve climate neutrality.

Download

Infographic

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-file

CO2-Senken

CO2-Senken und negativen Emissionen kommen bei der Erreichung von Klimaneutralität eine zwar eng begrenzte, aber gleichwohl unverzichtbare Rolle zu. Insbesondere in der Landwirtschaft, aber auch in einzelnen industriellen Prozessen verbleiben auch 2050 noch Restemissionen. Diese Emissionen werden durch die CO2-Entnahme aus der Atmosphäre und anschließende Ablagerung über die CCS-Technologie ausgeglichen. Im Saldo wird Deutschland so klimaneutral.

CO2-Senken beinhalten natürliche Senken, wie die Kohlenstoff-Aufnahme durch Wälder und Böden, sowie sogenannte negative Emissionen über die CCS-Technologie, die durch die CO2-Entnahme aus der Atmosphäre und Ablagerung erzielt werden.

Natürliche Senken umfassen Kohlenstoffeinbindungen aus Landnutzung, Landnutzungsänderungen und Wald (Land use, land use change and forestry – LULUCF). In diesen natürlichen Senken wird CO2 gespeichert, wie z.B. in Bäumen im Wald oder in Moorböden. Bei schlechter Bewirtschaftung können Senken zu Emissionsquellen werden.

Negative Emissionen durch den Einsatz von CCS werden vorwiegend durch den Einsatz von Biomasse-CCS, Direct Air Carbon Capture And Storage und die stoffliche Bindung von CO2 in Grünen Polymeren erreicht.

  • Bio-energy with carbon capture and storage (BECCS) ist die Abscheidung und geologische Lagerung von CO2, das bei der Verbrennung von Biomasse entsteht. Da Biomasse bei nachhaltigem Anbau und Nutzung als Reststoff weitgehend CO2-neutral ist, wird dadurch langfristig CO2 aus der Atmosphäre entnommen. Der Einsatz von BECCS ist durch die Menge der nachhaltig verfügbaren Biomasse begrenzt.
  • Als Direct Air Carbon Capture and Storage (DACCS) bezeichnet man die Abscheidung von CO2 direkt aus der Luft und seine anschließende Einlagerung in geeigneten geologischen Formationen. Durch Ventilatoren wird die Umgebungsluft eingesaugt und CO2 dabei durch ein Sorptionsmittel gebunden. Die Ablagerung des CO2 erfolgt wie beim CCS. Der Energieaufwand und die Kosten für DACCS sind deutlich höher als für BECCS.
  • Grünes Naphtha / Stoffliche Bindung von CO2 in grünen Polymeren: Mit aus der Luft über direct air capture entnommenem CO2 oder Biomasse wird mit aus erneuerbaren Energien erzeugtem Wasserstoff z.B. in Fischer-Tropsch Anlagen „grünes“ Naphtha oder andere Kohlenwasserstoffe hergestellt. Diese werden zu Polymeren und im Weiteren zu Kunststoffen verarbeitet. Durch ein verbessertes Recyclingsystem werden die Kunststoffe dauerhaft im Stoffkreislauf gehalten. Hierdurch und durch Verwendung von CCS bei der Müllverbrennung kann eine Emission des vorher aus der Atmosphäre gebundenen Kohlenstoffs vermieden werden.
Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Klimaneutrales Deutschland. Studie im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Beim Einsatz von BECCS spielt die Industrie eine wichtige Rolle. Gerade die hohen kontinuierlichen und räumlich konzentrierten Wärmebedarfe der Stahl- und chemischen Industrie bieten hier die Möglichkeit, Biomasse in großem Stil einzusetzen und das entstehende CO2 entsprechend abzutrennen. Dieses wird dann über die für die Zementindustrie ohnehin erforderliche CO2-Infrastruktur gespeichert. Auch die fast vollständige Kreislaufführung von Kunststoffen, vor allem über chemisches Recycling, ist ein wichtiger Beitrag der Industrie zur Klimaneutralität.

Für CCS sind Infrastrukturen, aber auch raumplanerische Fragen von erheblicher Bedeutung. Die Verfügbarkeit von CO2-Infrastrukturen und entsprechender Ablagerungsstätten bildet zukünftig eine zentrale Standortbedingung für eine Reihe von Industriebranchen. Massive Lernkurveneffekte für die Technologie der CO2-Gewinnung aus der Atmosphäre sind erforderlich.

CO2 Senken-content

Die Datenlage und Prognosen bezüglich natürlicher Senken, d.h. die Kohlenstoff-Aufnahme durch Wälder und Böden, sind nach wie vor sehr ungenau. Zudem besteht die Gefahr, dass aufgrund des Klimawandels in den nächsten Jahrzehnten Wälder und Böden zu CO2-Quellen statt -Senken werden. Daher ist der Beitrag von natürlichen Senken zur Klimaneutralität nur schwer zu beziffern und wird von uns nicht zur Erreichung von Klimaneutralität herangezogen.

Grafik-Download

Infografik

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-Datei