Agriculture

Climate-neutral agriculture requires sustainable production. This includes an expansion of organic farming, a reduction in nitrogen fertilization, efficient manure use and changes in animal husbandry.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal-Institut (2020): Towards a Climate-Neutral Germany. Study conducted for Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Climate Neutrality Foundation.

Methane and nitrous oxide emissions predominate

In the agricultural sector, greenhouse gas emissions mainly consist of methane and nitrous oxide emissions. They are caused by biological processes in soils and in animal husbandry. Approximately half of the current 70 million tons of CO2 equivalents in this sector arise through digestive processes in cattle and the storage of farm manure. Slightly more than a third of the emissions are due to nitrogen inputs in soils used for the cultivation of animal feed, market fruits and energy crops. The remaining 15 percent of emissions can be attributed to the fermentation of energy crops, other fertilizer applications (e.g. lime) and energy use in agriculture.

A mix of measures is necessary

We will need a broad mix of mitigation measures in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the agricultural sector. These include optimizing processes, such as the fermentation of large quantities of manure in biogas plants, the improved storage of farm manure and the use of low-emission muck spreaders. What is needed is an expansion of organic farming, a switch to crops with lower nitrogen requirements and a reduction of livestock, especially dairy cattle and cattle fattening.

Current consumption trends point in the right direction

Consumer demand for animal products is decreasing and shifting. Among other things, we can observe a moderate decline in milk consumption and a shift in meat consumption towards more poultry. If these trends continue, this will contribute to emissions reduction.

Download

Infographic

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-file

Landwirtschaft

Eine klimaneutrale Landwirtschaft erfordert eine nachhaltige Produktion. Hierzu gehören eine Ausweitung des Ökolandbaus, eine Verringerung der Stickstoffdüngung, eine effiziente Güllenutzung sowie Veränderungen bei der Tierhaltung.

SKN-Kapitelgrafiken-Landwirtschaft

Methan- und Lachgasemissionen überwiegen
Im Landwirtschaftssektor überwiegen bei den Treibhausgasemissionen Methan- und Lachgasemissionen. Sie entstehen durch biologische Prozesse in den Böden und in der Tierhaltung. Etwa die Hälfte der aktuell ca. 70 Mio. Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente in diesem Sektor entsteht durch Verdauungsprozesse bei Rindern und die Lagerung des anfallenden Wirtschaftsdüngers. Etwas mehr als ein Drittel der Emissionen geht zurück auf Stickstoffeinträge in Böden für den Anbau von Tierfutter, Marktfrüchten und Energiepflanzen. Die restlichen 15 Prozent der Emissionen lassen sich auf die Vergärung von Energiepflanzen, sonstige Düngeranwendungen (z.B. Kalkung) und den Energieeinsatz in der Landwirtschaft zurückführen.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Klimaneutrales Deutschland. Studie im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Ein Maßnahmenmix ist notwendig
Um im Bereich der Landwirtschaft Treibhausgasemissionen zu senken, ist ein breites Bündel von Minderungsmaßnahmen notwendig. Dazu gehört eine Optimierung von Prozessen, wie die Vergärung hoher Wirtschaftsdüngeranteile in Biogasanlagen und die verbesserte Lagerung und der Einsatz von emissionsarmen Ausbringungstechnologien für Mist und Gülle. Erforderlich ist eine Ausweitung des Ökolandbaus, eine Umstellung auf Kulturarten mit geringerem Stickstoffbedarf und eine Reduktion der Tierbestände, insbesondere bei Milchvieh und Rindermast.

Landwirtschaft Content

Aktuelle Konsumtrends weisen in die richtige Richtung
Die Nachfrage nach tierischen Produkten geht zurück bzw. sie verlagert sich. Unter anderem gibt es einen moderaten Rückgang des Milchkonsums und eine Verschiebung des Fleischkonsums hin zu mehr Geflügel. Wenn sich diese Trends fortsetzen, trägt dies zur Emissionsminderung bei.

Grafik-Download

Infografik

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-Datei