Energy Sector

The transition to 100 percent renewable energies plays a key role for moving towards climate neutrality. Electricity will be our central source of energy. We will use electricity to drive cars, to heat buildings and to produce in industry.

42% of power generation is already renewable

The energy sector is the largest emitter of greenhouse gases in Germany, but at the same time it is the sector where most of the emissions reductions have occurred since 1990. Thanks to the support provided by the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG), wind, sun, biomass and water have become the most important electricity sources. Their share in electricity consumption rose from 6.5 percent in 2000 to 42.1 percent in 2019. At the same time, electricity generation from wind and solar energy became increasingly cost-effective.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Towards a Climate-Neutral Germany. Study conducted for Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Climate Neutrality Foundation.

The energy industry is still responsible for one third of total GHG emissions

Despite this progress, more than one third of total greenhouse gas emissions in 2018 were attributable to the generation of electricity and district heating in public power plants and to the manufacture of coal and petroleum products (305 million out of 858 million tons of CO2 equivalents).

Of all sectors, the energy industry can and should make the largest contribution to reducing CO2 emissions by 2030. Replacing coal-based electricity with renewable energies and, in a transitional phase, with natural gas is one of the most cost-effective CO2 avoidance options.

A coal phase-out, the expansion of renewable energies and hydrogen form the basis

The main levers for reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the energy sector are the complete phase-out of coal by 2030, an increased expansion of renewable energies in the electricity sector and in heating networks, and the start of hydrogen use in gas-fired power plants and CHP plants. This has the potential to cut emissions from 305 today to 98 million tons of CO2 equivalents in 2030.

After 2030, renewable energies will be further expanded and electricity generation from fossil natural gas will be completely replaced by hydrogen.

Storage and other flexibility options can reconcile electricity demand and supply at any time. In the long term, negative emissions are necessary to compensate for the residual emissions, especially from agriculture, which are difficult to avoid. In the energy industry, this can be achieved on the one hand by capturing and storing emissions from the exhaust gases of biomass cogeneration plants (Bio-Energy with Carbon Capture and Storage, BECCS). On the other hand, CO2 can be filtered from the air and then permanently stored (Direct Air Capture and Carbon Storage, DACCS).

Download

Infographic

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-file

Energie

Auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität nimmt der Umbau der Stromerzeugung hin zu 100 Prozent erneuerbaren Energien eine Schlüsselposition ein. Strom wird zur zentralen Energiequelle. Wir werden mit Strom Auto fahren, Gebäude heizen und in der Industrie produzieren.

Stromerzeugung ist bereits zu 42% erneuerbar

Die Energiewirtschaft hat als Sektor die meisten Treibhausgasemissionen in Deutschland zu verantworten, hat zugleich aber die meisten Treibhausgasemissionen seit 1990 eingespart. Aufgrund der Förderung über das Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG) wurden Wind, Sonne, Biomasse und Wasser zur wichtigsten Energiequelle. Ihr Anteil am Stromverbrauch stieg von 6,5 Prozent im Jahr 2000 auf 42,1 Prozent im Jahr 2019. Gleichzeitig wurde die Stromerzeugung aus Wind- und Sonnenenergie immer kostengünstiger.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Klimaneutrales Deutschland. Studie im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Ein Drittel der THG-Emissionen stammt weiterhin aus der Energiewirtschaft

Trotz dieser Fortschritte entfiel im Jahr 2018 mehr als ein Drittel der gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen auf die Erzeugung von Strom und Fernwärme in öffentlichen Kraftwerken und auf die Herstellung von Kohle- und Mineralölprodukten (305 Mio. von 858 Mio. Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente).

Von allen Sektoren kann und sollte die Energiewirtschaft bis zum Jahr 2030 den größten Minderungsbeitrag leisten. Der Ersatz von Kohlestrom durch erneuerbare Energien und übergangsweise auch durch Erdgas ist eine der kostengünstigsten CO2-Vermeidungsoptionen.

Beendigung der Kohleverstromung, Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien und Wasserstoff sind die zentralen Hebel

Zentrale Hebel zur Senkung der Treibhausgasemissionen im Energiesektor sind die Beendigung der Kohleverstromung bis 2030, ein konsequenter Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien im Stromsektor und in den Wärmenetzen und der Beginn des Wasserstoffeinsatzes in Gaskraftwerken und KWK-Anlagen. Damit können die Emissionen von heute 305 auf 98 Mio. Tonnen CO2-Äquivalente im Jahr 2030 gedrittelt werden.

Energie Erneuerbare

Nach 2030 werden die erneuerbaren Energien weiter ausgebaut und die Stromerzeugung aus fossilem Erdgas vollständig durch Wasserstoff ersetzt.

Speicher und andere Flexibilitätsoptionen können Stromnachfrage und -angebot zu jeder Zeit in Einklang bringen. Langfristig sind negative Emissionen notwendig, um die nur sehr schwer zu vermeidenden Restemissionen insbesondere aus der Landwirtschaft zu kompensieren. Hierfür kommt in der Energiewirtschaft einerseits die Abscheidung und Speicherung von Emissionen aus den Abgasen von Biomasseheizkraftwerken in Frage (Bio-Energy with Carbon Capture and Storage, BECCS). Zum anderen kann CO2 aus der Luft gefiltert und anschließend dauerhaft gespeichert werden (Direct Air Capture and Carbon Storage, DACCS).

Grafik-Download

Infografik

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-Datei