Industry

For industry, the path to climate neutrality represents an enormous challenge on the one hand, but also a great economic opportunity on the other. Properly addressed, the “Green Deal” can both improve competitiveness and create prosperity and jobs. To achieve the climate targets, it is necessary to establish new processes in the basic materials industries. Technologically, this is favored by the fact that over the next 10 years, about 50 percent of the central plants in the German basic materials industry are scheduled for modernization. This opportunity needs to be seized.

 

Industry is the second largest emitter of greenhouse gases

With a share of 22 percent, industry is the sector with the second-highest greenhouse gas emissions after the energy industry. After emissions fell in the 1990s, for example due to the collapse of East German industries, efficiency gains and the increased electrification of production processes, this trend has hardly been able to continue over the past 20 years. The relatively strong economic growth has offset further reductions through efficiency and the use of low-carbon fuels.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Towards a Climate-Neutral Germany. Study conducted for Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende and Climate Neutrality Foundation.

Basic materials industries face a special challenge

The basic materials industries account for 70 percent of industrial greenhouse gas emissions (steel, basic chemicals, cement, lime, non-ferrous metals, glass, foundries, and pulp, paper and cardboard). For them, a transition to climate neutrality represents a particular challenge. This is because the conversion of raw materials requires high-temperature processes that are very energy-intensive and currently involve the combustion of coal, oil and natural gas. Added to this are process-related emissions that cannot be avoided with conventional technologies.

Climate neutrality is achieved through efficiency, the use of hydrogen, recycling and CCS

The introduction of new processes in the basic materials industries is crucial for achieving the climate targets in industry. This includes efficiency measures, an extensive switch to renewable energy sources (electricity, hydrogen, biogenic energy sources), innovative production routes such as the production of pig iron in direct reduction plants and chemical recycling, as well as the use of CO2 capture and storage (CCS).

Seizing the opportunity of reinvestment cycles

A forward-looking climate policy will avoid stranded assets. Therefore, framework conditions for a transition to climate-neutral technologies and processes must be created in a timely manner. By acting early, Germany will remain an important location for steel, basic chemicals and cement. The steel industry can become a pioneer in this transformation. Here, old blast furnaces using coal can be replaced by direct reduction plants fueled mainly by hydrogen and smaller proportions of natural gas.

Download

Infographic

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-file

Industrie

Für die Industrie bedeutet der Weg zur Klimaneutralität einerseits eine enorme Herausforderung, andererseits aber auch eine große ökonomische Chance. Richtig angegangen kann der „Green Deal“ sowohl die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit verbessern als auch Wohlstand und Arbeitsplätze schaffen. Um die Klimaziele zu erreichen, ist es erforderlich in den zentralen Grundstoffindustrien neue Prozesse zu etablieren. Technologisch wird dies dadurch begünstigt, dass ohnehin etwa 50 Prozent der zentralen Industrieanlagen der deutschen Grundstoffindustrien in den nächsten 10 Jahren zur Reinvestition anstehen. Diese Chance muss genutzt werden.

 

Grafik "THG-Emissionen/Industrie", Stiftung Klimaneutralität"

Industrie ist der zweitgrößte Treibhausgasemittent
Mit einem Anteil von 22 Prozent ist die Industrie nach der Energiewirtschaft der Sektor mit den zweithöchsten Treibhausgasemissionen. Nachdem diese in den 1990er Jahren etwa durch den Zusammenbruch der ostdeutschen Industrien, Effizienzsteigerungen und den verstärkten Einsatz von strombasierten Produktionsprozessen gesunken sind, konnte diese Entwicklung in den letzten 20 Jahren kaum noch fortgesetzt werden. Das relativ starke Wirtschaftswachstum hat weitere Einsparungen durch Effizienz und den Einsatz CO2-ärmerer Brennstoffe aufgehoben.

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020): Klimaneutrales Deutschland. Studie im Auftrag von Agora Energiewende, Agora Verkehrswende und Stiftung Klimaneutralität

Grundstoffindustrien stehen vor einer besonderen Herausforderung
Die Grundstoffindustrien tragen mit 70 Prozent zu einem Großteil der industriellen Treibhausgasemissionen bei (Stahl, Grundstoffchemie, Zement, Kalk, Nichteisenmetalle, Glas, Gießereien, sowie Zellstoff, Papier und Pappe). Für sie stellt eine Umstellung auf Klimaneutralität eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Denn zur Umwandlung von Rohstoffen sind Hochtemperaturprozesse nötig, die sehr energieintensiv sind und derzeit mit der Verbrennung Kohle, Öl und Erdgas einhergehen. Hinzu kommen prozessbedingte Emissionen, die sich mit herkömmlichen Technologien nicht vermeiden lassen.

Klimaneutralität wird durch Effizienz, Wasserstoff, Recycling und CCS erreicht
Die Etablierung neuer Prozesse in den zentralen Grundstoffindustrien ist der zentrale Hebel, um die Klimaziele in der Industrie zu erreichen. Dies beinhaltet Effizienzmaßnahmen, einen weitgehenden Umstieg auf erneuerbare Energieträger (Strom, Wasserstoff, biogene Energieträger), innovative Produktionsrouten wie die Herstellung von Roheisen in Direktreduktionsanlagen und chemisches Recycling, sowie den Einsatz von CO2-Abscheidung und Speicherung (CCS).

Industrie Foto im Text

Reinvestitionszyklen als Chance nutzen
Eine vorausschauende Klimapolitik wird „stranded assets“ vermeiden. Daher sind zeitnah Rahmenbedingungen für einen Umstieg auf klimaneutrale Technologien und Prozesse zu schaffen. Durch rechtzeitiges Handeln wird Deutschland auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität auch zukünftig ein bedeutender Standort für Stahl, Grundstoffchemikalien und Zement bleiben. Vorreiter bei der Transformation kann die Stahlindustrie werden. Hier können ans Ende ihrer Lebenszeit kommende, auf Kohlenutzung basierende Hochöfen durch Direktreduktionsanlagen ersetzt werden, die vorwiegend mit Wasserstoff und kleineren Anteilen Erdgas betrieben werden.

Grafik-Download

Infografik

Prognos, Öko-Institut, Wuppertal Institut (2020)

PDF-Datei