The Advisory Board

The foundation’s Advisory Board brings together international experts from the field of climate policy. It supports the foundation with its knowledge and is a place for strategic debates on climate neutrality in an international context.

Hal Harvey
Chairman

Hal Harvey is the CEO of Energy Innovation, a San Francisco-based energy and environmental policy firm. Since its inception in 2012, Energy Innovation has delivered high-quality research and analysis to policymakers around the world and across a range of jurisdictions to help inform their energy policy decisions.

From 1991-2002, Hal served as founder and CEO of the Energy Foundation, a philanthropy supporting policy solutions that advance renewable energy and energy efficiency. He then helped establish Energy Foundation China, the European Climate Foundation, and the Indian Sustainable Energy Foundation. From 2002-2008, he served as Environment Program Director at the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.

Hal has served on energy panels appointed by Presidents Bush and Clinton, and has published two books and dozens of articles on energy and national security issues. He is President of the Board of Directors of the New-Land Foundation, a member of the Board of Directors of Fifth Third Bank, Vice Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board for Mercator Climate Center, and a Senior Fellow for Energy and the Environment at the Paulson Institute. Hal was awarded the Heinz Award for the Environment in 2016, was honored with the United Nation’s Clean Air and Climate Change Award in 2018, and received the California Air Resources Board’s Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award in 2019.

Early in his career, Hal designed and built solar homes, and built an electric car for his commute. He holds B.S. and M.S. degrees from Stanford University in Engineering, specializing in Energy Planning.

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Lorentz
Vice-Chairman

Bernhard Lorentz serves on numerous boards of public, academic and philanthropic institutions. He is also founder of several social enterprises. As president of one of the largest German private foundations, he showed how much influence strategic philanthropy can have on major political reform processes. During this time, he founded several of today’s leading think tanks in the fields of climate and energy (Agora Energiewende, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change), digital society (Stiftung Neue Verantwortung), migration/ integration (Expert Council on Integration/ Sachverständigenrat Integration) and international politics (MERICS). As the founding managing director of the Hertie School of Governance, he established the first university for public policy in Germany. Bernhard Lorentz is managing partner markets at EY Germany, Switzerland, Austria, as well as head of EYCarbon, a new EY Brand dedicated to supporting European industries on their way into a decarbonized world.

Bernhard Lorentz studied law and history in Tübingen, Berlin, Sussex and at Johns Hopkins and is an honorary professor at the Free University of Berlin. He was awarded various fellowships and publishes in high-ranking journals and major newspapers on public-private partnerships, strategic philanthropy and third-sector management, as well as in the areas of climate change, energy policy, migration, and research and education policy.

Linda Kalcher
Member

Linda Kalcher joined the European Climate Foundation in 2015 and currently serves as the CEO’s special advisor and Director on Resilient Recovery. In this role, she drives the ECF network’s efforts on greening the economic recovery, leading the set-up of a macroeconomic think tank network, political outreach and aligning pan-EU advocacy efforts. Linda’s outreach includes a broad set of policy-makers, investors, businesses, finance experts, regional and local actors as well as other stakeholder groups to ensure the Green Deal remains central to Europe’s recovery from COVID-19.

In her previous role as Director for EU institutional relations, Linda lead ECF’s nascent work on the European Green Deal and the EU’s increase of climate ambition in line with the Paris Agreement. Prior to joining ECF, Linda worked as political advisor to Social Democrat MEP Jo Leinen, where the debate on the future of energy and climate policies was central to her work. In this role, she gained a thorough understanding of European and international policy-making, while working with a range of stakeholders from businesses to NGOs. Working in the European Parliament, Linda sharpened her ability to negotiate with a wide range of individuals and organizations in order to influence political decisions.

Christian Hochfeld
Member

Christian Hochfeld is Executive Director of Agora Verkehrswende. Prior to his appointment as Director of Agora Verkehrswende in February of 2016, Christian Hochfeld was the head of the program for sustainable transportation in China at the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ). From 1996 to 2004, he was a research associate at the Oeko-Institut, a German environmental organization, and served as a member of the institute’s executive management from 2004 to 2010. Hochfeld holds a Diplom degree in environmental engineering from the Technical University of Berlin. He has been a member of the advisory board of the Chinese Electric Vehicle Forum (China EV100) since 2015.

Dr. Patrick Graichen
Member

Patrick Graichen is Executive Director of Agora Energiewende where he has been working since 2012, initially as its Deputy Director; since 2014 he has been heading the think tank. During his tenure he ceaselessly gave impetus to the policy governing the Climate & Energy in Germany, Europe and other international communities, among other things, concerning power market design, expansion of renewable energies, consensus on coal, thermal energy transition and industrial policies relating to energy turnaround. As in the past, he continues to be constantly in touch with many players, exchanging views on the policies linked to Climate & Energy. In 2018, he was adjudged the Energy Manager of the year by the journal Energie & Management on behalf of a jury. Prior to joining Agora Energiewende, Graichen worked in the Federal Environment Ministry from 2001 to 2012, first as a consultant in the department for International Climate Protection, then as a personal advisor to the State Secretary and finally as the Head of Unit Climate & Energy Policy.

Graichen has been involved with the topic of energy transition since he was a student. He pursued his studies in political science and economics in Heidelberg, Germany, and in Cambridge, UK; he completed his doctorate on Energy Policies of Municipalities at the Interdisciplinary Institute for Environmental Economics at the University of Heidelberg.

Justin Johnson
Member

Justin Johnson is Director for Climate at the Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF). He leads the climate team’s work on cities, industry, air quality and in Europe. Justin joined CIFF from Centrica plc, a UK based energy company, where he held a variety of roles including Group Head of Strategic Projects, Group Director of Strategic and Internal Communications and Group Head of Policy. Prior to that Justin was Specialist Adviser to the UK Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP.  There he covered a range of issues including climate change, energy efficiency, water and air quality issues.  Previously Justin was Head of Policy at the UK Business Council for Sustainable Energy and worked as a public affairs consultant. Justin holds a Masters in International Development from the LSE and has co-authored two books on UK public affairs.

Der Beirat stellt sich vor

Der Beirat der Stiftung Klimaneutralität vereint internationale Experten aus dem klimapolitischen Bereich. Er unterstützt die Stiftung mit seinem Wissen und ist Ort für strategische Debatten zur Klimaneutralität im internationalen Kontext.

Hal Harvey
Vorsitzender

Hal Harvey ist Geschäftsführer von Energy Innovation, einer auf Energie- und Umweltpolitik spezialisierten Denkfabrik mit Sitz in San Francisco. Seit der Gründung in 2012 stellt Energy Innovation politischen Entscheidungsträgern auf der ganzen Welt qualitativ hochwertige Forschung und Analysen zur Verfügung, um sie bei ihren energiepolitischen Entscheidungen zu unterstützen.
Von 1991 bis 2002 war Hal Harvey Gründungsdirektor und Geschäftsführer von Energy Foundation, einer philanthropischen Gesellschaft, die sich mit Lösungsstrategien im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien und Energieeffizienz befasst. Er war beteiligt an der Gründung der Energy Foundation China, der European Climate Foundation und der Indian Sustainable Energy Foundation. Von 2002 bis 2008 war er Direktor des Umweltprogramms der William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Hal Harvey war Mitglied verschiedener durch die US-Präsidenten Bush und Clinton einberufenen Beratungsgremien im Bereich der Energiepolitik und hat zwei Bücher sowie zahlreiche Artikel in den Bereichen Energiepolitik und nationale Sicherheit veröffentlicht. Er ist Beiratsvorsitzender der New Land Foundation, Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der Fifth Third Bank, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Expertenbeirats des Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) und Senior Fellow für Energie und Umwelt am Paulson Institute. Hal Harvey ist Preisträger des Heinz Award für die Umwelt 2016, er wurde 2018 mit dem Clean Air and Climate Change Award der Vereinten Nationen und 2019 mit dem Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award des California Air Resources Board ausgezeichnet.

Hal Harvey
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Lorentz
Stellvertretender Vorsitzender

Bernhard Lorentz ist Mitglied zahlreicher Gremien öffentlicher, akademischer und philanthropischer Institutionen. Er ist auch Gründer mehrerer gemeinnütziger Unternehmen. Als Präsident einer der größten deutschen Privatstiftungen zeigte er, welchen Einfluss strategische Philanthropie auf wichtige politische Reformprozesse haben kann. In dieser Zeit gründete er mehrere der heute führenden Think Tanks in den Bereichen Klima und Energie (Agora Energiewende, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change), digitale Gesellschaft (Stiftung Neue Verantwortung), Migration / Integration (Sachverständigenrat Integration) und internationale Politik (MERICS). Als Gründungsgeschäftsführer der Hertie School of Governance etablierte er die erste Universität für Public Policy in Deutschland. Bernhard Lorentz ist Managing Partner Markets bei EY für die Region Deutschland, Schweiz und Österreich sowie Leiter von EYCarbon, einer neuen EY-Marke, die die europäische Industrie auf ihrem Weg in eine klimaneutrale Welt begleitet.

Bernhard Lorentz studierte Rechtswissenschaften und Geschichte in Tübingen, Berlin, Sussex und an der Johns Hopkins University und ist Honorarprofessor an der Freien Universität Berlin. Er erhielt verschiedene Stipendien und veröffentlicht in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften und großen Zeitungen über öffentlich-private Partnerschaften, strategische Philanthropie und Management des dritten Sektors, sowie zu Themen wie dem Klimawandel, der Energiepolitik, Migration sowie Forschungs- und Bildungspolitik.

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Lorentz
Linda Kalcher
Mitglied

Linda Kalcher ist seit 2015 bei der European Climate Foundation (ECF) tätig, wo sie derzeit Special Advisor der Geschäftsführung und Direktorin für Resilient Recovery ist. In dieser Funktion treibt sie die Bemühungen des ECF-Netzwerks voran, die darauf abzielen, den wirtschaftlichen Wiederaufschwung nachhaltig zu gestalten. Dabei leitet sie den Aufbau eines makroökonomischen Netzwerks von Denkfabriken, die politische Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die Abstimmung der EU-weiten Interessensvertretung. In dieser Funktion agiert sie mit einem breiten Spektrum von politischen Entscheidungsträgern, Investoren, Unternehmen, Finanzexperten, regionalen und lokalen Akteuren sowie anderen Interessengruppen, um sicherzustellen, dass der Green Deal für die Erholung Europas von COVID-19 weiterhin eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Zuvor war Linda Kalcher bei der ECF Direktorin für die institutionellen Beziehungen der EU und leitete die Arbeit der ECF zum europäischen Green Deal und zur Anhebung der EU-Klimaziele im Einklang mit dem Pariser Abkommen.
Vor ihrer Tätigkeit bei der ECF arbeitete Linda Kalcher als politische Beraterin beim sozialdemokratischen Europaabgeordneten Jo Leinen, wo die Debatte über die Zukunft der Energie- und Klimapolitik im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit stand. In dieser Funktion erwarb sie ein gründliches Verständnis für die europäische und internationale Politikgestaltung und arbeitete mit zahlreichen Interessenvertretern von Unternehmen bis hin zu NGOs zusammen. Durch ihre Arbeit im Europäischen Parlament wurde ihre Fähigkeit geschärft, mit einem breiten Spektrum von Einzelpersonen und Organisationen zu verhandeln, um politische Entscheidungen zu beeinflussen.

Beirat Linda Kalcher
Christian Hochfeld
Mitglied

Christian Hochfeld leitete bei der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) das Programm für Nachhaltigen Verkehr in China, bevor er im Februar 2016 Geschäftsführer der Agora Verkehrswende wurde. Von 2004 bis 2010 war er Mitglied der Geschäftsführung des Öko-Instituts, davor seit 1996 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am gleichen Institut. Christian Hochfeld ist Diplom-Ingenieur, an der Technischen Universität Berlin studierte er technischen Umweltschutz. Seit 2015 ist er Mitglied des Internationalen Beirats der chinesischen Plattform Elektromobilität (China EV100).

Christian Hochfeld
Dr. Patrick Graichen
Mitglied

Patrick Graichen ist Direktor von Agora Energiewende, wo er seit 2012 beruflich beheimatet ist. Er hat Agora Energiewende mit aufgebaut, zunächst als stellvertretender Direktor und leitet die Denkfabrik seit 2014 als Direktor und Geschäftsführer. In dieser Zeit hat er kontinuierlich Impulse im Bereich der Klima- und Energiepolitik in Deutschland, Europa und international gegeben – unter anderem zum Strommarktdesign, zum Ausbau der Erneuerbaren Energien, zum Kohlekonsens, zur Wärmewende und zu einer Energiewende-Industriepolitik. Gleichzeitig steht er im ständigen Austausch mit vielen Akteurinnen und Akteuren im Bereich der Klima- und Energiepolitik. Im Jahr 2018 zeichnete ihn die Zeitung Energie & Management im Auftrag einer Jury als Energiemanager des Jahres aus. Bevor er zu Agora Energiewende kam, arbeitete er von 2001 bis 2012 im Bundesumweltministerium, zunächst als Referent im Referat für internationalen Klimaschutz, dann als persönlicher Referent des Staatssekretärs sowie zuletzt als Referatsleiter für Klima- und Energiepolitik.
Mit der Energiewende befasst sich Graichen schon seit seiner Studienzeit. Er hat in Heidelberg und im britischen Cambridge Politik- und Volkswirtschaft studiert und am Interdisziplinären Institut für Umweltökonomie der Universität Heidelberg zu kommunaler Energiepolitik promoviert.

Dr. Patrick Graichen
Justin Johnson
Mitglied

Justin Johnson ist Direktor für Klimaschutz der Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF) in London. Dort leitet er die Arbeit des Klima-Teams zu Städten, Industrie, Luftqualität und in Europa. Bevor er zur Children’s Investment Fund Foundation kam, arbeitete Justin Johnson bei Centrica plc, einem in Großbritannien ansässigen Energieversorgungsunternehmen, wo er eine Vielzahl von Positionen innehatte, darunter Group Head of Strategic Projects, Group Director of Strategic and Internal Communications und Group Head of Policy. Zuvor war Justin Johnson Specialist Adviser des britischen Ministers für Umwelt, Ernährung und Angelegenheiten des ländlichen Raums, Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP. Dort war er mit einer Reihe von Themen wie Klimawandel, Energieeffizienz, Wasser- und Luftqualität befasst. Davor arbeitete Justin Johnson als Head of Policy beim UK Business Council for Sustainable Energy und als Public Affairs Berater. Justin Johnson besitzt einen Master in Internationaler Entwicklung von der LSE und ist Ko-Autor zweier Bücher über Public Affairs in Großbritannien.

Justin Johnson