Our Team

Rainer Baake
Managing Director

Rainer Baake is a climate and energy expert with many years of experience in public administration as State Secretary for Energy in the Federal Ministry of Economics (2014-2018), State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of the Environment (1998-2005), State Secretary in the Hessian Ministry of the Environment (1991-1998) and Head of the Environment Department in the district of Marburg-Biedenkopf (1985-1991). Baake was founding director of Agora Energiewende (2012-2014) and federal managing director of Deutsche Umwelthilfe (2006-2011). Baake studied economics at the Philipps University of Marburg (Dipl.-Volksw.). From 1975 to 1978 he worked as a community organizer in Chicago.

Herr Baake
Dr. Julia Metz
Dr. Julia Metz

Julia Metz has worked on climate and energy policy in various positions at the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (BDEW) and the German Bundestag, most recently as personal advisor to Kerstin Andreae, Chairwoman of the BDEW’s Executive Board.

Prior to this, she conducted research on European policy at the Social Science Research Centre Berlin (WZB). Julia Metz studied political science and economics in Heidelberg and received her doctorate in European politics at the Free University of Berlin.


Martin Weiß
Senior Advisor

Prior to joining the Climate Neutrality Foundation, Martin Weiß worked at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety in Berlin (BMU). There he worked for many years on climate protection in Germany and on European and international levels, also having dealt with these issues at the Federal Environment Agency and the European Commission. Martin Weiß studied political science at the University of Potsdam.

Until June 2020, he headed the BMU’s Department for Germany’s bilateral and regional cooperation with European partner countries on environmental protection.

Dipl. Pol. Michael Schroeren
Head of Media

Michael Schroeren studied politics and history in Cologne and Berlin. He most recently worked at the Federal Ministry for the Environment as Head of the Press and Information Staff. Between 1998 and 2017, he was spokesman for the Federal Ministers Jürgen Trittin, Sigmar Gabriel and Barbara Hendricks. From 2010 to 2014, he headed the press department of the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen parliamentary group. From 1990 to 1998, he was press spokesman for the Nature and Biodiversity Conservation Union (NABU), and before that, from 1983 on, he was press spokesman for the federal executive board of the Green Party.